Embarrassed

I’ve seen this video of spoken word artist Hollis McNish twice in the last 12 hours. I took a break from my work to share with you.

This is powerful, and like great poetry, brings up great points to an important issue. I’m from Ottawa, Canada, a place were breastfeeding is not only accepted, it’s encouraged. Women there are not expected to stay home when breastfeeding, they are not asked to go to a restroom to feed their child. No one bats an eye when a mother provides nourishment to her baby. I live in the US now, things are a little different here. I’ve been asked once to go somewhere more private to feed my daughter. I promptly ignored them. Not all women are like me. Some women would not have the confidence to hold their ground. Let me be clear: If a breastfeeding mother in a restaurant makes you uncomfortable, you are more than welcome to take your own meal in the bathroom.

I love this video, not only for the subject matter, but Hollis McNish has an impactful delivery.

Cheers

Leave a comment

Filed under Everything Else

I want to know what you think, so CLICK here