Book Review of Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Dear book lovers, I am elated. I have found a book to write home about, or to blog with great enthusiasm. I usually try to review whole series instead of the individual books, but I just could not wait to share the love that I have for this book. I have to give credit to my dear cousin, Michelle, for introducing me to this story. She has been going on and on over Ender’s Game for what feels like forever, and I kept putting it off. I was afraid, you see. I was afraid that I would not love the book as much as she does, and then where would our relationship be??? What if she would take insult to my dislike of the book and thus, start a rivalry that would put the Hatfields and McKoys to shame. What if one of my descendants accidentally kills one of her descendants and that leaves a whole town at war with itself, every one feelling pressure to choose sides; fathers against sons, mothers losing children. IT. WOULD. BE. CHAOS!  Well, fret not, I effin loved it, which means our relationship is safe. 🙂

Welcome to futuristic Earth, where we have suffered multiples attacks from ant-like aliens known most popularly as buggers.Welcome to a futuristic sci-fi world, where different countries have banded together (think European Union but on a global scale) to fight the buggers. Where the superpowers have been practicing eugenics in the hopes of creating their savior, their hero, their Ender.

For decades, children have been “harvested” at a young age and sent to battle school where they learn to be soldiers. When I say young, I mean barely out of kindergarden, and they spend the next 15 years at a school, in space, learning how to become expert strategists and warriors. They have found a warrior to rival all others. His name is Ender Wiggins, and his task is to save the world. No pressure.

As you are reading this, you might be rolling your eyes, thinking how incredibly far fetched it is, and it is BUT the important thing is how you feel while reading the book. You easily forget that the main character is merely a child, a brilliant child, but a child none the less. You feel as isolated as Ender does, and as remorseful as his handlers are. In short, it’s emotionally wrenching and the author is a master.

The plot is effin off the charts!!!! (to understand my excitement click here ). FINALLY! WE GOT OURSELVES A STORY. This book ends well, and if you never pick up another one of Orson Scott Card’s books again, you will die a happy death, but I hope you don’t do that. Stop reading his books I mean. He’s a great writer and his work deserves to be read. High praise, coming from me. The ending leaves you wanting more, but it’s not so desperate to have your attention that it becomes fucking ridiculous. It twists and turns and by then end of it, your mouth is agape and you’re saying to yourself “Holly shit, that just happened!” but then you give it a few moments and then you think: “That makes total sense.”

Should you read this story? No

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Just kidding. You would be crazy not to. It’s amazing and awesomely awesome!

2 zero-gravity thumbs up!!!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Book Review

4 responses to “Book Review of Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

  1. Mwah! You’ve done it justice! Bravo. Now read Ender’s Shadow!

  2. Yeah I read that as well. I think that was a good call. I can’t imagine being able to root for Ender without seeing him getting broken and built up again.

I want to know what you think, so CLICK here